DropDownList in a UltraGrid

We are in the process of converting from E9 to E10 and with that comes trying to recreate customizations that were created previously. I have been able to work my way through other features that had been created but I stomped by this one. Please provide a 100 Level solution as I am not a true programmer.

I have created the UltraGrid and I have the fields populating from the UD table; however, in E9 the fields where DropDowns which I can’t figure out the code to do so in my E10 customization. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

UltraGrids in general are easier than many Epicor things to find help on - you can search online and find a lot of Infragistics documentation and discussion.

The accepted Epicor way, having said that, is as follows:

• For any column in the grid that you would like to be a drop-down, add a Combo control of some kind elsewhere on the form and bind it to the same field. You can hide it afterwards if you don’t need it for anything else.
  • In InitializeCustomCode (or code called from there), add:
yourgrid.DisplayLayout.Bands[0].Columns["yourfield"].ValueList = yournewcontrol;
yourgrid.DisplayLayout.Bands[0].Columns["yourfield"].Style = Infragistics.Win.UltraWinGrid.ColumnStyle.DropDownList;
yournewcontrol.ForceRefreshList();
6 Likes

Yes, I found a number suggests related to Infragistics online but they certainly didn’t match anything I was seeing in Epicor. Your code looks more familiar than it was to me. That being said I entered your code with my grid and control names as below in the InitializeCustomCode() section but when I opened the Form I received the Error below the my code.

epiUltraGridPltComm.DisplayLayout.Bands[0].Columns[“ShortChar01”].ValueList = epiComboRelPlant;

epiUltraGridPltComm.DisplayLayout.Bands[0].Columns[“ShortChar01”].Style = Infragistics.Win.UltraWinGrid.ColumnStyle.DropDownList;

epiComboRelPlant.ForceRefreshList();

Application Error

Exception caught in: mscorlib

Error Detail