Customization Code Review

This is my first time trying to write my own code in Customization instead of using the Wizard. It compiles fine but does not do what I wanted it to do.

I was looking to check if an email address existed on the QuoteHed before a quote could be quoted and error out if not. I wrote the following and was wondering if someone could review real quick and point out if there is a reason why it isn’t working.

private void chkQuoted_BeforeCheckStateChanged(object sender, System.ComponentModel.CancelEventArgs args)
	{
		var edvQE = oTrans.Factory("QuoteHed");
		if (edvQE.dataView[edvQE.Row]["Quoted"].Equals(false))
		{
			if (edvQE.dataView[edvQE.Row]["EmailAddress"].Equals(null))
			{
				throw new Ice.BLException("No email.");
			}
		}
	}

which part did you write, the entire method or the contents of the method? You will still need a method handler in the initiation of the code (and a disposal in the disposal method).

You are comparing the value of an Object to Null however if the object is a string and that string is empty it will not be null. You need to cast that field to a String and then use String.IsNullOrEmpty(myString) to check your condition.

@Aaron_Moreng I wrote the whole thing (obviously leaning on Wizard code I used before) and did not initiate or dispose anything. I had added them in before and they were causing my code to not compile so I too them out. Should I put them back in?

@josecgomez Thanks! I have updated my code with your input, still not working, but that is because of something else I believe.

Do I need to add the initialize and destroy outside of the wizard spots?

Yes, you will need an event handler implemented in the code in order for this method to do anything. Also, Jose’s suggestion is correct in that you will need to cast the object into a string before checking the condition.