Altering the address of a PO when a new PO header is requested

Hello all,

I am new to Vantage, with no training, and virtually no documentation. I have been able to muddle through requests for a few months now, but I am now seeing more complicated tickets come my way. I am somewhat behind the 8-ball here, and though I don’t want to sound like I’m asking someone to do my homework for me, I do need some help.

The problem we face is that when POs are created, they are automatically assigned the Ship To address of the user’s company. However, we have several remote plants, and even if the user selects the right plant, the PO is still created with the Ship To of the company and not the plant.

I had asked about this in another thread and was directed to look at creating a BMP (my thanks again to that user), I tried my best to muddle out creating a BMP, but I am not able to create anything that seems to have any effect.

Below is a summary of what I thought would be the correct procedure:

• Create a new Method Directive for the Method Code “PO.GetNewPOHeader”.
  • In Base Processing, add a new directive with
    condition: the specified [POHeader.ShipAddress2] field of [the added row] [is equal to] the specific [“123 OurAddress St”] value
    action: set the specified [POHeader.ShipAddress2] field [the added row] to the specific [“987 PlantAddress St”] value
  • Set the Enabled flag on the directive

This, of course was just to test that I could get this to do something and I used proper values for the addresses. But, still I had no luck. Requesting a new PO is the Purchase Order Entry screen did not result in a change to the address.

So my question is 3-fold:
a) What did I do wrong above? I thought this directive would assure that when I asked for a new PO it would have an address of “987 PlantAddress St”.